The history of trains in my life.

I have been a fan of the Rock Island Railroad since the 70’s and then became a fan of the Milwaukee Road in the early 80’s.  The former I did not get any live photo shots and the latter I missed the Pacific Extension.  I rode on the Des Moines Rocket before it went away and I am positive I saw the Milwaukee Road, even the Little Joe’s, on a family trip through Montana.  Both of the events occurred when I was eight and ten years old respectively. Unfortunately there are no pictures of either occasion to be found.

I became a fan of the Illinois Central Gulf in the early 80’s as well.  I spend time up in Fort Dodge, IA; in fact multiple times as well and I spent an entire weekend in central Illinois chasing ICG trains.  You might wonder what about the CNW and all I can say, what about the CNW?…I enjoyed watching those trains in Ames while I was a student at ISU but the railroad never became a favorite.

In the late 80’s I saw a calendar with an Erie Lackawanna train moving through a very colorful fall scene and I had a new favorite railroad. I bought up as much Erie Lackawanna items such as books and HO scale trains as I could. I even went as far as having two EL SDP45’s custom built in HO scale and this is way before Athearn came out with their version.

Lastly, being a fan of the ICG eventually led me to becoming a fan of the GM&O which has been a rather recent conversion.  As a result I have been looking for as many pictures as possible of  the GM&O online and downloading them.  I also look for pictures of my other favorite railroads and download them as well.

Noticed how I talked about HO scale trains…yes I enjoy model railroading.  I started when I was six years old with my first train set on Christmas morning. Even had a 4 x 8 in the basement within a few years but the real trains captivated me.  As I grew older I moved into N scale after my parents bought a small layout from a guy at the hobby store.  Not knowing well enough I eventually ruined the layout and took it apart.  I went back into HO scale and then that is where I collected a decent amount of engines and cars. Move forward to getting married and having kids I then sold all of the HO trains and started buying N scale….being that we were not going to have enough room for a HO layout anytime soon.

Well, that lasted a few years and then I sold off my entire collection to make a down payment on a house.  Now having some room I went back to HO scale though no where near the pace when I was much younger.  Things had changed in the model railroad industry and there was much more detailed and much more expensive equipment so I had to be deliberate in what I bought.  Fast forward to my mid 40’s and my eyesight  not being what it used to be and my fingers were not as nimble as they used to be I moved into O scale trains.  Sold off my HO equipment and had to become even more deliberate in what I bought as O scale can be much more expensive.  I even tried G scale for a short time but went back to O scale.

So, that is where I am at.  Modeling O scale and of course it is much bigger than N or HO scale so space is a premium.  Of course with my love for the railroads listed earlier I wanted to somehow incorporate all of the railroads in one place.  That was not going to be easy.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment